Teaching Guides

The Quran o’Phonics Reading Program has been extremely effective in teaching countless children around the world to read the Holy Quran easily, effectively and accurately. Each part of the program has been thoughtfully designed and is grounded in early-childhood language learning principles.

Therefore, to achieve the desired results, the Quran o’Phonics method should be followed exactly as it has been explained in the teaching guides for each reading level.

These teaching guides are an integral part of the Quran o'Phonics Reading Program. They explain to parents and teachers, step-by-step, exactly what to do and how to use the Quran o'Phonics teaching resources to help children learn to read the Holy Quran.

Quran o'Phonics Syllabus Overview

3 Stages of Learning

4 Parts of a Quran o'Phonics Class

Quick Reference Teaching Guide

Detailed teaching guides and resource links for each Quran o'Phonics Reading Level can be found in the links below:

Part 1

Reading Level 1: The Arabic Alphabet

Reading Level 2: Short Sounds (Harakaat - Dhammah, Kasrah, Fathah)

Reading Level 3: Joining Letters

Reading Level 4: Tanween (Twins)

Reading Level 5: Long Sounds (Madd Letters)

Reading Level 6: Sukoon

Reading Level 7: Shaddah

Reading Level 8: Joining Words and Silent Letters

Part 2

Reading Level 9: Transitioning to the Holy Quran

Part 3

Reading Level 10: Longer Sounds (Madd Symbol)

Reading Level 11: Noon and Meem Rules

Reading Level 12: Waqf 1- How to Stop 

Reading Level 13: Qalqala (Bouncy Sounds)

Reading Level 14: Fat and Thin Sounds (III)

Reading Level 15: Waqf (II) - Where to Stop

Reading Level 16: More Rules

Reading Level 17: Navigating the Holy Quran

Additional Resources for Teachers:

List of Recommended Quran Reciters (Qaris) and Online Quran Resources

Differences between Madinah Mushaf Quran Script and Indo-Pak Quran Script

Bookmark: Tajweed at a Glance